Our Structure

GPDF is a company limited by guarantee, consisting of members who are nominated from LMCs across Great Britain. We are governed by a Board of Directors, the majority of whom are or have been GPs and elected by members (i.e. LMCs). A minority of Directors are appointed for their skills or experience in other sectors. (i.e. non-medical).

Day to day management is provided by an Executive Team, headed by the Executive Chair and supported by the Director of Operations and the Company Secretary. Until 2018, GPDF was very closely linked to the General Practitioners Committee of the BMA. This is no longer the case and the GPDF is completely independent in structure and responsibility from the GPC and BMA.

The Board

Dr Douglas (Dougy) A Moederle-Lumb

(Executive Chair) Nominee for North Yorkshire LMC

A GP Principal for 25 years and a GP Appraiser for 18 of them, Dougy developed his original single-handed practice into a multi-practice business serving 30,000 patients. As well as being the CEO of YORLMC (Bradford & Airedale and North Yorkshire LMCs) for 12 years, he has been a Trustee of The Cameron Fund (the GPs own charity) for the last 5 years. During his career he has been a member of GPC, an expert witness to the Courts and, for 10 years, he chaired the Yorkshire & Humber Alliance of LMCs. Dougy was first elected a Director in 2015.

Bill Butler

Independent Director

Bill is a member of CIPFA and a member of its Regulatory Panel. Bill’s association with healthcare began with the Audit Commission where he became Acting Director of Health before joining the new Healthcare Commission. He was Finance Director there when it began its work as the NHS regulator in 2006. He joined the Gambling Commission as Director of Corporate Services and was then CEO at the Security Industry Authority. Bill is a non-executive director and chair of the audit & risk committee of the Gangmasters & Labour Abuse Authority. Since 2018, he has been a non-executive lay member of the board of The Law Society for England and Wales.

Julia Densem

Independent Director

Julia is a registered dentist and a barrister. In 2000 she left clinical practice and took up a role as a consultant with the Medical Protection Society (MPS) and then as an employee until retiring in 2016. During that time, she studied for the Bar and holds an MA in Medical Ethics and Law and an LLM in Professional Legal Practice. Julia was appointed an independent Director in 2013.

Dr Colin Kelman

Nominee for Salford and Trafford LMC

Colin has been in practice since 1983 and has been senior partner for the last 17 years. He was previously the Chair and Honorary Secretary of Salford and Trafford LMC. Colin is a Non-Executive Director of Mastercall Out of Hospital Healthcare, an award-winning Social Enterprise, providing a range of ‘out of hospital’ healthcare services across the North West of England, and he was elected a Director of the GPDF in 2018.

Dr Gurmit Mahay

Nominee for Wolverhampton LMC

Medical Secretary of Wolverhampton LMC for the last 16 years, Gurmit is also chair of the Black Country Division of the BMA, and chair of the West Midlands LMCs’ Liaison Group. He was admitted a solicitor by the Law Society in 2003 and, in addition to practising as a GP, he has his own independent law practice. Gurmit is Chairman of the Election Board at the Guru Ravidass Temple in Wolverhampton. He has been a Director of the GPDF since 2018.

Dr Keith McIntyre

Nominee for Lanarkshire LMC

Keith first became a member of Glasgow LMC in 1994 before transferring to Lanarkshire LMC in 2012, where he is now the chair. He is a member of SGPC, and a Clinical Director of the GP out-of-hours services (OOH) in Greater Glasgow and Clyde. Keith was elected as a Director in 2017 and re-elected at the AGM in September 2020.

Dr Robert Morley

Nominee for Birmingham LMC

A Director of the GDPF since 2012, Bob has held a variety of roles, including, chair of Midlands Medical Partnership and Midlands Medical LLP as well as chair of Badger Midlands Medical Ltd. He was a Council Member of the BMA for 4 years, during which time he served on its Oversight and Finance Committee. Bob has been a member of GPC since 2006 and was chair of its Contracts and Regulation Subcommittee (now a Policy Group) between 2013 and 2019.

Jane Tozer

Senior Independent Director

Jane has been a non-executive Director (NED) and audit committee chair of numerous companies. She is the Senior Independent Director of Nominet, the company that runs the UK domain name system, BMO Global Smaller Companies Investment Trust plc, and at Ventus 2 VCT plc. She is a Trustee of the Galapagos Conservation Trust and has been a NED of Asthma UK and a departmental audit committee member of the Ministry of Justice. Graduating from Cambridge with a double First in mathematics, Jane joined IBM, after which she was Chief Executive of Softwright Systems, a software development company which she co-founded and ran until its sale to a US quoted company.

Dr Ashok Rayani

Nominee for Morgannwg LMC

LMC Medical Secretary for Morgganwg and a member of that LMC since 1984, Ashok is also a past member of GPC Wales and he has chaired the Welsh Conference of LMCs. During his career he was the Lead GP for Prison Health at HMP Swansea for 10 years and has been a GP trainer and Undergraduate Tutor. Ashok is currently head of his practice and he has been a Director of the GPDF since 2017 and re-elected at the AGM in September 2020.

Dr Paul Roblin

Nominee for Oxfordshire LMC

Paul served as CEO of BBOLMC for 14 years until he retired in 2018. Until 2004 he had been the Executive Partner at Summertown Health Centre in Oxford for 20 years and after withdrawing from the partnership, he was a Locum GP for a further 13 years. Paul was elected to the Board in 2017 and re-elected at the AGM in September 2020.

Non-Board Members

With Executive Responsibility

Joel Griffin

Independent Chair of the Remuneration Committee

Joel is the Reward Director for Rolls-Royce Plc with responsibility for reward policy for the company’s globally diverse employees. He supports the Rolls-Royce Board’s Remuneration Committee and has considerable experience of governance arrangements for a variety of organisations, including public corporations, small subsidiaries and pension trusts.

Dr John Canning

Director of Operations

Currently Director of Operations, John has given over 20 years’ service to the GPDF including as chair and treasurer. He was Secretary of Cleveland LMC for many years and remains on that committee. During the time that he was a member of GPC UK, John also chaired the Annual Conference of LMCs for three years. He is currently a part time salaried GP.

Hugh Christie

Company Secretary

Prior to appointment as the GPDF Company Secretary in 2003, Hugh was a partner in PricewaterhouseCoopers London, and in a predecessor firm he had been managing partner of offices in Turin, Glasgow, and Moscow. Before joining the GPDF, he had also been the interim Director of Finance at the GMC. He is a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Scotland.

Origins of GPDF

GPDF Limited has its roots in the early 20th century when its predecessor organisation, initially called The Insurance Defence Fund was founded in 1911. The remit, structure, focus and name (variously General Medical Services Defence Trust and General Medical Services Defence Fund Ltd), has changed and evolved several times over the years but always with a common purpose to support the best interest of publicly funded general practitioners.